Vedanta & Hinduism Category

Vedanta...formerly Hinduism...but some Hinduism too...the Religious One...
I don't care about cultures, but a better - If Hinduism is not a Religion, I call it Vedanta...
Vedanta seems too narrow to encompass all 6 Darshanas, and Hinduism too confusing...

Hindus - practitioners of religious duty (Dharma)
not to be confused with Indians & Indian heritage

Vaiṣṇavism | Introduction

Vaishnavism is the name given to the faith and practices of those Hindus who hold Vishnu (Viṣṇu) (“the all-pervasive one”) and the goddess Lakṣmī (Lakṣmī) as supreme deities. The Sanskrit term Vaishnava (Vaiṣṇava) means “follower of Vishnu.” Devotion to Vishnu seen in the Vedas and later Sanskrit literature, amalgamated with the worship of many local deities and texts, eventually gave rise to the Vaiṣṇava faith.

Vishnu Sahasranāma | by Baladeva Vidyābhūṣaṇa

Thousand Names of Lord Viṣṇu with the “Nāmārtha Sudhā Bhāṣya” of Baladeva Vidyābhūṣaṇa. Baladeva Vidyābhūṣaṇa was the foremost teacher and author of Gaudīya Vaiṣṇavism of 18th century (disappeared on 1768). For His works on Vedic wisdom he earned the Title “Vidyābhūṣaṇa” – meaning “Ornament of Knowledge”. What follows next is the commentary of Baladeva Vidyābhūṣaṇa to the famous Viṣṇu Sahasranāma – the 1000 Names of

Gādya Traya | 3 Poems of Śrī Rāmānuja

Śrī Rāmānuja has blessed us with nine Śrī Sūktas and Gādya Traya, the Triple Prose, which belongs the category of his latter day compositions is dedicated to the concept of Śaraṇāgati – the complete surrender to the God – Śrīman Nārāyaṇa. These 3 Poems are: 1. Śaraṇāgati Gādya, 2. Śrīraṅga Gādya and 3. Śrī Vaikuṇṭha Gādya. In short, the theme of the Gādya traya is

Tattvatraya | Manavala Mamunigal

Manavala Mamunigal is known as the leading Light of Teṅkalai or Southern school of Tamil Vaishnavism in 15th century and closely referred and studied up to this day, along with his root preceptor - Pillai Lokacharya (1205–1311). The current work of Manavala Mamunigal – Tattvatraya or The Three Principles of Truths – is dedicated to the 3 Essential Principles or Truths constituting the Universe –

Light of Rāmānuja’s School | Śrīnivāsa

This is a very detailed and lucid compendium on all most important tenets of Viśiṣṭādvaita or “Qualified Dualism” school of understanding as founded by great Āchārya Śrī Rāmānuja and transmitted and practised in Śrī Vaishnavism. The name of the present work is “The Light of Rāmānuja’s School” or “Yatīndra-Mata-Dīpikā” by Śrīnivāsa Āchārya, who lived probably in the beginning of the 17th century. “The Light of

Philosophy of Rāmānujācārya

What has been attempted is only the presentation of Rāmānuja’s views on important points with just so much reference to the doctrines of Śaṅkara, as is necessary to understand Rāmānuja. Enough has, however, been said to show that Rāmānuja and his system, though not possessing the, simplicity or universality of Śaṅkarācārya’s, is yet an eminently sound one, compatible with an admission of the reality of


This collection is dedicated to the fundamental, most important life’s work of Vedanta Deśikan (1268–1370) about the fundamental doctrines, teachings and philosophy of Śrī Vaiṣṇavism. The present classical work is known as Śrīmad Rāhasyatraya Sāram, which could be translated as The Essence of the Holy Three Secrets – referring to the 3 fundamental Secrets-Mantras of Śrī Vaiṣṇavism – Tirumantra, Dvaya Mantra and Charama Shloka -

Prapanna Pārijāta | Servant’s Heritage

The name Prapanna Pārijāta was given to the work by the author himself. This book was written by Śrī Vatsya Varadaguru (more popularly known as Nadadoor Ammal) who was the preceptor of Vedanta Deśika’s preceptor, a Saint of 12th century. The name Prapanna Pārijāta author himself defines thus: “That is to say, the essential requisites of a virtuous character have been collected here from various

Consorts and Attendants of Vishnu

In this article we will talk about the eternal consorts, attendants and servants of Lord Vishnu - such as the carrier of Lord Vishnu - Garuḍa, Viśvaksena, The eight door-keepers and eight guardians of Vaikuṇṭha, the Divine female consorts of Lord - Śrī Lakṣmī, Bhū-devī and Nīla-devī and many other emanations of Divine Mother, as well as who were the 12 Āḻvārs, the eternal devotees

Vaiṣṇava Iconography

In the Spiritual Realm God resides in the form of Para-Vāsudeva identified also as Nārāyaṇa. He is adorned with the nine chief ornaments and weapons which represent the various cosmic principles of the universe. Everything connected with the icon has a symbolic meaning: the posture, gestures, ornaments, number of arms, weapons, vehicle, consorts and associate deities. These descriptions and interpretations are found in Vedic Scriptures,